[Bug] "Unsaved changes" dialog box appears even when no changes are made

Post/Author/DateTimePost
#1

lomerell_dawnbringer

Mar 29, 2009 10:31:40
When I load a character just to view or print without editing it whatsoever, when I attempt to load another character, I get a dialog box that says:

"The current character has unsaved changes. Are you sure you want to discard them?"

While I appreciate the extra protection against actually discarding unsaved changes, this is annoying and distracting. Until I tested it deliberately, I was under the impression that I had unknowingly altered my characters, and in a panic to figure out what I had (accidentally) changed so that I could correct it.

Most applications offer such a dialog box if you actually HAVE made changes, but don't if you haven't. I'm reporting this as a bug because I believe that's what was intended (rather than annoyance and misinformation).
#2

dalzig

Mar 29, 2009 13:03:05
I think you might be misunderstanding what "Unsaved changes" means in computer terms.

Adding an item and them removing the same item is a change. Unequipping an item and reequipping the same item is a change. Doing just about anything on the Character Sheet is a change.

Notice that if you load a character and immediately load another character, this window does not show up. This is standard behavior for computer programs.
#3

lomerell_dawnbringer

Mar 29, 2009 14:36:08
I think you might be misunderstanding what "Unsaved changes" means in computer terms.

Adding an item and them removing the same item is a change. Unequipping an item and reequipping the same item is a change. Doing just about anything on the Character Sheet is a change.

I tested this without doing anything on the character sheet or the character builder. Load the character, and then load another character. That's it.

But thanks for insulting me while not helping.
#4

jhanzur

Mar 29, 2009 14:39:49
While to be honest, you really didn't present a problem the boards could help you with. I'm also not syre where the insult was, but that's alright. I can be a bit slow sometimes.

To your point, is it really a huge ordeal to click cancel? I don't think it is...
#5

lomerell_dawnbringer

Mar 29, 2009 14:42:48
It's not a "huge ordeal". I would classify it as an annoyance.

It's like discovering a scratch on a brand new DVD of a movie I like, or a tear in a sofa I just bought. Does it mean I can't use the thing? Of course not.

This doesn't mean I'm happy with defects (even if they're minor) in a purchased product or a paid subscription. Thus I hope this will be corrected soon.

EDIT:

More testing. If I literally do NOTHING in between loading characters, the dialog does not appear. But apparently the CBuilder is the only windows application of the modern age which thinks printing modified the file. Go figure.

And again, hitting "cancel" is not the inconvenience. Freaking out because I believe unauthorized changes have been made to the character IS the inconvenience.
#6

dalzig

Mar 29, 2009 18:52:03
I wasn't trying to insult you, I'm just used to not assuming high levels of computer literacy.

That said, it is a bit strange for printing to raise the flag.
#7

lomerell_dawnbringer

Mar 29, 2009 20:50:14
Agreed.